Ontario, BC, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba: 2026 PNP Comparison

Ontario, BC, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba: 2026 PNP Comparison

The province with the most nominations is not automatically the one that fits your situation. Ontario runs the largest 2026 allocation of the five, but it just closed all eight of its streams and reopened as one, now generally requiring a job offer — a change that catches out anyone picking a province by allocation size alone. Five provinces run five different nominee programs. Here is what Ontario, British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba actually looked like as at September 2026.

At a glance

  • Ontario’s 2026 allocation is 14,119 nominations, the largest of the five provinces compared here, but it now runs through one redesigned stream (Ontario Workforce Priority) that generally needs a job offer.
  • British Columbia nominates through named category draws — Innovate: High Economic Impact, Care, Build: Construction Trades — alongside a separate monthly Express Entry BC (EEBC) Base/Regional draw series.
  • Alberta’s 2026 allocation is 6,603, including a dedicated Accelerated Tech Pathway (619 spots) and a Dedicated Health Care Pathway (518 spots).
  • Saskatchewan’s 4,761 allocation reserves at least 50% for seven priority sectors, including technology, plus 750 spots for graduates of Saskatchewan institutions.
  • Manitoba’s 6,239 allocation is delivered through frequent occupation-specific draws — but every province scores candidates on its own grid, so scores are not comparable across provinces, or to the federal Comprehensive Ranking System (CRS).

Same program, five different systems

The Provincial Nominee Program (PNP) is a federal-provincial partnership: a province nominates a candidate, and the candidate then applies to Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) for permanent residence. Quebec and Nunavut do not run a PNP. If you also qualify for a federal Express Entry program, a nomination adds 600 points to your Comprehensive Ranking System (CRS) score, which in practice puts you first in line for an Invitation to Apply at the next round. If you don’t qualify for Express Entry, you apply directly through the province’s non-Express Entry stream, which carries no CRS bonus and is generally slower.

We won’t quote you a processing time for either route: IRCC’s own processing-time page uses a live widget that did not return a number when we checked — use IRCC’s “Check processing times” tool for the current figure.

Province 2026 allocation Notable 2026 stream/pathway Express Entry–aligned?
Ontario 14,119 8 streams collapsed into 1 (Ontario Workforce Priority), regulations in force 25 June 2026, EOI portal reopened 4 August 2026 Not stated for the new stream — don’t assume either way
British Columbia Not published on the pages reviewed Named category draws (Innovate, Care, Build) plus monthly EEBC Base/Regional draws Yes, via the EEBC option
Alberta 6,603 Dedicated Accelerated Tech Pathway (619) and Dedicated Health Care Pathway (518) Yes for the Express Entry Stream and Health Care Pathway’s EE variant; no for Alberta Opportunity, Rural Renewal, Tourism and Hospitality Streams
Saskatchewan 4,761 50% minimum reserved for 7 priority sectors incl. Technology; 750 spots for SK graduates Yes, via Saskatchewan Express Entry and EE variants of the talent pathways
Manitoba 6,239 Frequent occupation-specific EOI draws naming exact occupations, from aerospace engineers to teachers Mixed — issues both “base” and “enhanced” (EE) nominations from the same draws

Ontario: the biggest number, the narrowest door

Ontario’s 14,119-nomination allocation for 2026, announced 6 February 2026, is the largest of the five provinces compared in this piece — but how you reach it changed mid-year. Regulatory amendments in force from 25 June 2026 closed all eight former streams, including Human Capital Priorities, Skilled Trades and In-Demand Skills, and replaced them with one: the Ontario Workforce Priority stream. Expressions of interest not yet invited under the old streams were withdrawn, and the new stream’s own EOI portal only opened on 4 August 2026, with no invitation rounds held under it as of our research date.

The new stream runs two occupation-based pathways: a TEER 0-3 pathway (full-time, permanent job offer, 6 months’ recent employment, CLB 6, post-secondary credential) and a TEER 4-5 pathway (job offer, 9 months’ cumulative experience, CLB 4, secondary diploma). Self-employed physicians in good standing with the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario are the one group that can qualify without a job offer. Ontario has not stated whether the new stream is Express Entry–aligned — don’t treat that either way until it’s confirmed.

British Columbia: category draws instead of one queue

BC no longer runs one named “tech” draw; the closest equivalent sits inside Skills Immigration’s “Innovate: High Economic Impact” invitation type, alongside “Care” and “Build: Construction Trades” categories and a smaller monthly Base/Regional draw series tied to the Express Entry BC (EEBC) option. On 20 August 2026, the Innovate wage/job-offer draw needed a job offer of at least CAD 55/hour and CAD 110,000/year for 337 invitations, while its points-track draw needed a minimum score of 132 for 265 invitations. The EEBC Base/Regional draws run much smaller — the 28 July 2026 Base draw issued just 10 invitations at a minimum score of 117. As of 4 August 2026, BC’s Skills Immigration pool held 8,306 registered candidates, with only 10 scoring 150 or above.

Alberta: dedicated lanes for tech and health care

Alberta’s 2026 allocation is 6,603 nominations, of which 4,560 had been issued and 2,043 remained as of 25 August 2026. The Alberta Express Entry Stream needs an active federal profile but not always a job offer, and carries three pathways: Accelerated Tech (619 spots), Law Enforcement (12 spots), and priority-sector draws covering construction, manufacturing, agriculture and aviation (619 spots). A separate Dedicated Health Care Pathway (518 spots) has both Express Entry and non-Express Entry variants.

Not every route is Express Entry–linked. The Alberta Opportunity Stream is the province’s largest by allocation (3,562 spots) and needs a job offer from an Alberta employer where the candidate already lives and works. The Rural Renewal Stream (1,057 spots) needs a rural job offer plus a community endorsement letter. Minimum draw scores vary widely by pathway — Alberta’s own score is not one number, it’s several. Separately, Alberta issued 50 physician and 12 Francophone nominations in 2026 under a federal allowance outside its 6,603 allocation.

Saskatchewan: sectors first, points second

Saskatchewan’s 2026 allocation is 4,761, with a minimum of 50% reserved for seven priority sectors — Healthcare, Agriculture, Skilled Trades, Energy, Mining & Minerals, Manufacturing and Technology — and 25% capped for Accommodations and Food Services, Retail Trade and Trucking. Priority-sector applicants can apply from overseas at any time; capped-sector applicants only in the last six months of their work permit. At least 750 nominations are reserved for graduates of Saskatchewan institutions with a priority-sector job offer.

Its International Skilled Worker category splits into an Employment Offer sub-category (job offer required, NOC TEER 0-3, CLB 4) and an Occupation In-Demand sub-category, which needs no job offer but limits selection by occupation — we can’t give you specific NOC codes for that general list, as it wasn’t confirmed on our research pass; check SINP’s own occupation pages. A Saskatchewan Express Entry sub-category also needs no job offer. The Health Talent Pathway needs a job offer, covers health roles from NOC 21100 through 44101, and carries a non-refundable CAD 500 fee. Once invited, you have 60 days to apply. Candidates are ranked by EOI point score; ties break first on a demonstrated connection to Saskatchewan.

Manitoba: draws by occupation, not by category

Manitoba’s 2026 federal nomination allocation is 6,239. Its Skilled Worker in Manitoba route needs no new job offer — current, ongoing Manitoba employment is enough — and frequent occupation-specific EOI selections target listed NOC unit groups directly. Skilled Worker Overseas, for candidates abroad, needs a qualifying connection and a job offer. Manitoba issues both “base” (non-EE) and “enhanced” (EE) nominations from the same draws, and the split moves with its inventory. Draw #275 on 16 July 2026 issued 2,146 Letters of Advice to Apply, of which 825 went to candidates with a valid Express Entry profile. Across January-June 2026, 886 of Manitoba’s nominations were enhanced (Express Entry) nominations.

From the UAE: what this means for you

The honest starting point isn’t “which province has the biggest allocation” — it’s “which province’s rules match where you already stand.” A confirmed job offer in a specific province mostly settles it: Ontario’s new stream, BC’s wage-track Innovate draws, Alberta’s Opportunity Stream, Saskatchewan’s Employment Offer sub-category and Manitoba’s Skilled Worker Overseas route are all built around exactly that. Without a job offer yet, your options narrow to routes like Saskatchewan’s Occupation In-Demand and Express Entry sub-categories, Alberta’s Express Entry Stream, or Manitoba’s Skilled Worker in Manitoba draws — all of which rank candidates by points or occupation match, not employer sponsorship.

Don’t treat any minimum score as a fixed target: Alberta’s Accelerated Tech Pathway moved between 55 and 60 across three 2026 draws, and BC’s Innovate wage threshold shifted from CAD 62/hour in April to CAD 55/hour in August. Check our Canada PR points calculator to see where your federal Express Entry profile stands on its own, and our Canada skilled migration page for the wider federal picture. Our guide library tracks draw and policy changes as provinces publish them.

Frequently asked questions

Which province had the largest PNP allocation in 2026?

Ontario, at 14,119 nominations — the largest of the five provinces compared here — though it now runs through one redesigned stream that generally requires a job offer.

Can we compare Alberta’s minimum score to Saskatchewan’s, or to the federal CRS?

No. BC’s points, Alberta’s score, Manitoba’s ranking score and Saskatchewan’s points grid are each built differently and don’t convert into each other or into the federal CRS.

Does a provincial nomination mean permanent residence is approved?

No. The province nominates; IRCC still decides the PR application. An Express Entry–aligned nomination’s 600 CRS points put you at the front of the next round, but the federal review still has to be completed.

What to do next

If you want to know which of these five programs actually fits your profile, request a free eligibility assessment, call us on 04 357 7796, or book a 20-minute review with one of our CICC-registered consultants through our contact page. We do not promise outcomes — provinces set and change their own criteria, and IRCC makes the final decision on every application.

Sources

Not sure which route fits you? Speak to a licensed consultant — CICC (Canada) and MARA (Australia) regulated. No obligation.

Call +971 4 357 7796WhatsApp us

Browse all immigration guides by topic →

Related posts